Will I go to jail for first time shoplifting in Georgia?
According to the law, a first offense misdemeanor for shoplifting may carry fines of up to $1,000 and up to one year in jail. If you are found guilty of a first offense felony for shoplifting, the fines are at the court’s discretion and you may be facing between one and ten years in jail.
What is the average sentence for shoplifting?
The offence of stealing/larceny carries a maximum penalty of 5 years imprisonment. However, stealing/larceny is an offence sometimes dealt with pursuant to section 10 of the Crimes (Sentence Procedure) Act, meaning no conviction will be recorded, there is no other penalty and you will have no criminal record.
How long does shoplifting stay on your record in Georgia?
If you have been arrested or given a ticket for shoplifting, you must know how Georgia’s shoplifting laws apply to you and what your best chances are for keeping (or recovering) your clean record. In Georgia, a misdemeanor or felony shoplifting arrest is forever.
Should I confess to shoplifting?
Stores can and do call the police when they catch shoplifters, especially if they sign a confession. Your best option is to avoid confessing – either verbally or in a written agreement – altogether until the police arrive and then exercise your right to remain silent.
What happens if you get caught shoplifting on camera?
Criminal Shoplifting Charges You don’t have to have a successful shoplifting experience to be charged with shoplifting. If you’re caught on camera hiding unpaid items in your bag, clothing or on your person, you may be charged with shoplifting. Misdemeanor shoplifting is when you shoplift items up to $400 in value.
How much does it cost to have your record expunged in Georgia?
There could be a fee for this, depending on the agency, but they are not allowed to charge more than $50. To apply, you must complete a form with three sections and get it signed by the appropriate parties.
How much does it cost to seal your record in Georgia?
Is it a crime to shoplift in Georgia?
Shoplifting is a severe crime, and a shoplifting charge should not be taken lightly. While a charge is not the same as a conviction, it is important to retain a knowledgeable Georgia Shoplifting Attorney from the very beginning.
What’s the punishment for petty theft in Georgia?
When a theft offense involves property valued at $500 or less, the crime is punishable as a misdemeanor in Georgia. ( § 16-8-12.) Punishment for a misdemeanor includes a fine of no more than $1,000 and a sentence of imprisonment of no more than 12 months.
What was the misdemeanor charge for shoplifting at Walmart?
A suspect was found guilty of a misdemeanor charge of shoplifting under O.C.G.A. §16-8-14. The defendant, Grady, and his friend, Hartsfield, went to Wal-Mart to exchange two racquetball racquets. A store employee scanned the racquets, and the employee gave them two yellow stickers with a barcode on them.
What is the definition of theft by shoplifting?
16-8-14. Theft by shoplifting (5) Wrongfully causes the amount paid to be less than the merchant’s stated price for the merchandise.