What is the Florida statute for battery?

What is the Florida statute for battery?

Under Florida Statute 784.03, the crime of misdemeanor battery is committed when a person either: Intentionally touches or strikes another person against their will; or. Intentionally causes bodily harm to another person.

Is battery a felony in Florida?

Felony Battery is a Third Degree Felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison. Under Florida Statute 784.041(1), the crime of Felony Battery is defined as intentionally touching or striking another person against their will which causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement.

How many years is aggravated battery in Florida?

15 years
Under Florida law, Aggravated Battery is generally classified as a second degree felony. Thus, the penalties can include up to 15 years in prison or 15 years of probation, and up to $10,000.00 in fines.

What happens when you get charged for battery?

The penalties for California battery in most cases include a fine of up to two thousand dollars ($2,000) and/or up to six (6) months in county jail. This offense is a wobbler in California law—which means it may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.

What is the penalty for felony battery in Florida?

Felony battery is a third-degree felony that can be punished with a maximum of five years’ imprisonment, probation for five years, and a fine of $5,000.

Which is worse battery or assault?

If the victim has not actually been touched, but only threatened with physical harm (or a person attempted to touch them), then the crime is assault. If the victim has been touched in a painful, harmful, violent, or offensive way by the person committing the crime, this might be battery.

What degree felony is aggravated battery in Florida?

Second Degree Felony
In Florida, the crime of Aggravated Battery is a Second Degree Felony and punishable by up to fifteen (15) years in prison, fifteen (15) years of probation, and a $10,000 fine.

What is the minimum sentence for aggravated assault in Florida?

Aggravated Assault is reclassified from a Third Degree Felony to a Second Degree Felony if the victim was a Law Enforcement Officer, Firefighter, or EMT. Additionally, the defendant will be facing a mandatory minimum sentence of three (3) years in prison.

How much is bond for battery in Florida?

Pinellas County Bond Schedule This document provides a range of bonds for certain offenses. For example, DUI/BUI with no property damage (1st or 2nd offense) has a low bond of $500.00 and a high bond of $1,000.00. Battery (3rd degree felony) has a low bond of $1,000.00 and a high bond of $5,000.00.

How can I get my felony charges dropped?

The 5 most common ways to get a felony charge dropped are (1) to show a lack of probable cause, (2) to demonstrate a violation of your constitutional rights, (3) to accept a plea agreement, (4) to cooperate with law enforcement in another case, or (5) to enter a pretrial diversion program.

Can I drop battery charges?

Only the prosecutor or judge can drop a domestic violence charge, but they rarely do. Such cases are often taken seriously because the prosecutor or judge doesn’t want to let a guilty offender go without punishment simply because the victim “changed their mind.”

What is the Statute of limitations for domestic battery in Florida?

A statute of limitation in Florida for misdemeanor acts of domestic violence such as the first offense of domestic violence battery is three years. The purpose of the “statute of limitations” is to prohibit prosecutors from prosecuting someone with a crime that was committed more than a specified number of years ago.

What is the Statute of limitations on sexual battery in Florida?

In Florida, there’s no statute of limitation on civil cases involving sexual battery (equivalent to “sexual assault” or “rape” in other jurisdictions) committed against a victim under 16. For most other sex crimes, survivors have 7 years from the time they turn 18 to file suit.

What is the Florida Statute for aggravated battery?

Aggravated Battery in Florida. Under Florida Statute 784.045(1)(a), the crime of Aggravated Battery is defined as an intentional battery with a deadly weapon, intentionally causing great bodily harm, or battery against a pregnant person and is punishable by up to fifteen years in prison.