What is the 7 star flag?

What is the 7 star flag?

The seven stars represent the seven original states: South Carolina; Mississippi; Florida; Alabama; Georgia; Louisiana and Texas. The seven star flag was used officially for two years, but never established as the Confederate Flag by law.

What is the history of the Stars and Bars flag?

A Confederate battle flag distinct from the flag of the Confederacy, the “Stars and Bars,” was created following the first major battle of the Civil War, at Bull Run near Manassas, Virginia, in July 1861, because in the heat of battle soldiers and commanders confused the Stars and Bars with the Union army’s “Stars and …

What is the meaning of Confederate States?

Confederate States of America, also called Confederacy, in the American Civil War, the government of 11 Southern states that seceded from the Union in 1860–61, carrying on all the affairs of a separate government and conducting a major war until defeated in the spring of 1865.

Who makes the rules in a Confederacy?

(2) The Congress shall have power to dispose of and make allneedful rules and regulations concerning the property of the Confederate States, including the lands thereof.

What does the Stars and Stripes stand for on the Confederate flag?

national flag consisting of seven white stars on a blue canton with a field of three alternating stripes, two red and one white. The stars represent the seven seceded states of the U.S. Deep South. As many as eight more stars were later added to represent states admitted to or claimed by the Confederacy.

What is considered the Deep South?

The term “Deep South” is defined in a variety of ways: Most definitions include the following states: Georgia, Alabama, South Carolina, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Arkansas is sometimes included or considered to be “in the peripheral” or Rim South rather than the Deep South.”

What does flag have 13 stars?

13 Star Flag 13 Star Flag History. Disagreement about the origin of the 13 Star Flag. The Hopkinson Flag. Betsy Ross Flag. Other 13 Star Flags. Bennington Flag. Washington’s Commander-in-Chief Flag. Brandywine Flag. Green Mountain Boys Flag. Fort Mercer Flag.

Why are there 13 stripes on the American flag?

There are 13 stripes of the U.S. flag because they symbolize the 13 original colonies that revolted against British rule. Later on, these places went on to become the Union’s first states. They are represented by alternating white and red horizontal stripes, together with other important symbols, colors and shapes.

What flag has a star in the middle?

The Algeria National Flag is made of a green and white stripe, vertical and equal, with a Red Crescent and star in the middle of the flag. The white side of the flag symbolizes purity and the green side is for Islam . The Red Crescent originated on the Turkish flag and has become an Islamic symbol.

What flag has red white and red stripes?

Stripes of red and white have been a collective emblem of Austria for over 800 years, and their first usage on the flag occurred in 1191. According to long established legend, the red and white flag was designed to resemble the bloodstained white coat worn by the Duke of Austria during a fierce battle.