What is RoHS compliance certification?

What is RoHS compliance certification?

RoHS means “Restriction of Certain Hazardous Substances” in the “Hazardous Substances Directive” in electrical and electronic equipment. If a product is RoHS-certified, this confirms that the proportion of hazardous, or difficult to dispose substances is limited to the maximum allowed.

What products are covered by RoHS?

The following is a list of all the categories covered by Annex I of the EU RoHS Directive:

  • Large household appliances.
  • Small household appliances.
  • IT and telecommunications equipment.
  • Consumer equipment.
  • Lighting equipment.
  • Electrical and electronic tools.
  • Toys, leisure and sports equipment.
  • Medical devices.

What is excluded from RoHS?

Permanent exclusions from RoHS include the following: military equipment, space equipment, equipment designed to be part of another piece of equipment falling outside the scope of RoHS, large scale industry tools, large scale fixed installations, means of transport for persons or goods, non-road mobile machinery.

What is RoHS Exemption 7a?

(renewal request) Exemption for „Lead in high melting temperature type solders (i.e. lead-based alloys. containing 85 % by weight or more lead)“

Are there any exemptions for RoHS Annex 3?

Seven exemption groups have been approved for the use of lead in certain applications under EU RoHS Annex III for a few more years, summarized and detailed below: July 21, 2021: All categories except for Category 8 in-vitro diagnostic medical devices, Category 9 industrial monitoring & control instruments, Category 11 products

What does RoHS 5 / 6 mean for restricted substances?

RoHS 5/6 refers to compliance for 5 out of the 6 restricted substances (no compliance for lead (Pb)). Lead in very specific applications for Categories 8 and 9 is also exempted under Annex III for a few more years. For more information, see RoHS Annex III Lead Exemptions.

When do medical devices have to comply with RoHS 3?

Medical devices have a two-year extension to meet RoHS 3 compliance. “The restriction of DEHP, BBP, DBP and DIBP shall apply to medical devices, including in vitro medical devices, and monitoring and control instruments, including industrial monitoring and control instruments, from 22 July 2021.”

What does RoHS stand for in electrical category?

What is RoHS? RoHS stands for Restriction of Hazardous Substances. RoHS, also known as Directive 2002/95/EC, originated in the European Union and restricts the use of specific hazardous materials found in electrical and electronic products (known as EEE). All applicable products in the EU market after July 1, 2006 must pass RoHS compliance.