Who was the first woman chief minister in India name?

Who was the first woman chief minister in India name?

The first female to become chief minister was Sucheta Kripalani of the Indian National Congress party, who sworn in on 2 October 1963 as chief minister of Uttar Pradesh.

Who is first chief minister of India?

On 26 January 1950 Govind Ballabh Pant, Premier of United Provinces, became the first Chief Minister of the newly renamed Uttar Pradesh. Including him, 11 out of UP’s 21 chief ministers belonged to the Indian National Congress.

Who was the first woman state of India?

Sarojini Naidu was the first woman to become the governor of an Indian state. She governed Uttar Pradesh from 15 August 1947 to 2 March 1949. Her daughter, Padmaja Naidu, is the longest-serving female governor with almost 11 years tenure in West Bengal.

Who is the 1st Chief Minister?

List of chief ministers of Karnataka

Chief Minister of Karnataka
Term length At the confidence of the assembly Chief minister’s term is for five years and is subject to no term limits.
Inaugural holder K. Chengalaraya Reddy
Formation 25 October 1947
Website https://karnataka.gov.in, https://cmkarnataka.gov.in

Who is the first woman freedom fighters of India?

The queen of the Maratha princely state of Jhansi in North India, Rani Laxmibai became a symbol of resistance for women across India during the freedom movement. She was born in 1828 in Kashi as “Manikarnika”. She was married to the King of Jhansi, Gangadhar Rao, when she was only 12.

Who is the India Governor?


State Governor
Andhra Pradesh Shri Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
Arunachal Pradesh Brig. (Dr.) B. D. Mishra (Retd.)
Assam Prof. Jagdish Mukhi
Bihar Shri Phagu Chauhan

What is the new CAA law in India?

The objective of the CAA is to grant Indian citizenship to persecuted minorities like Hindus, Sikhs, Jains, Buddhists, Parsis and Christians from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The government got an extension for the fifth time for framing these rules.

Who is the current PM of India?

Narendra Damodardas Modi is the current Prime minister of India (14th).

Who is the third Prime Minister of India?

Lal Bahadur Shastri, Third Prime Minister of India. He was the third Prime Minister of independent India and a significant figure in the Indian independence movement.

Who is the first prim Minister of India?

India’s first prime minister- Jawaharlal Nehru -took oath on 15 August 1947. Nehru went on to serve as prime minister for 17 consecutive years, winning four general elections in the process. His tenure ended in May 1964, on his death.

How is the Prime Minister elected in India?

The prime minister is appointed by the president of India. The prime minister is elected by the elected members of Lok Sabha among themselves. If the PM candidate gets more than 50% of votes i.e: 50+1% (272+ Parliamentary seats in this case) he becomes the prime minister (PM) of the country.