Who did Britain beat to win the Davis Cup?

Who did Britain beat to win the Davis Cup?

Great Britain won their tenth title (their first since 1936), with Andy Murray defeating David Goffin of Belgium on clay in the final match held at Flanders Expo located in Ghent on 29 November 2015.

How many times have Great Britain won the Davis Cup?

Britain have now won the Davis Cup, the tennis version of the World Cup, 10 times in total. Murray can also add the team title to his other major wins at Wimbledon, the US Open and the Olympic Games.

When was the Davis Cup in Glasgow?

Glasgow’s Emirates Arena will host the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group semifinal between Great Britain and Australia on 18-20 September.

Which country won the Davis Cup?

Spain is the reigning world champion after defeating Canada 2-0 in the Davis Cup by Rakuten Madrid final on 24 November 2019.

Who is the US Davis Cup captain?

Mardy Fish
United States Davis Cup team/Captains

Is Leon Smith married?

Smith is married and has three children.

Which country has the most Davis Cup wins?

USA holds the record for winning the most consecutive Davis Cup titles. Since the Final Round was introduced in 1972, five nations have successfully defended their Davis Cup crowns….

Country No. of Consecutive Years in Final Years
Sweden 7 1983-1989
USA 3 1990-1992
Sweden 3 1996-1998
Australia 3 1999-2001

Who does Leon Smith coach?

I am currently the Great Britain Davis Cup Captain. We became World Champions in 2015 for the first time in 79 years. I also had the privilege of coaching Andy Murray through his teenage years.

Where is Leon Smith now?

Once again, Leon Smith has been tripped up by fate. He is at Disneyland, an appropriate destination for an 18-year-old kid whose life has been spent with one size-17 sneaker in Fantasyland, the other in Tomorrowland. Smith is on a much-needed 24-hour furlough from the Dallas Mavericks summer league team in Long Beach.

When was the last time Great Britain won the Davis Cup?

The Czech Republic won successive Davis Cups in 2012 and 2013, before Switzerland won their first title in 2014. In 2015 Great Britain bridged the longest winning gap in the competition’s history, 80 years, when they won their first Davis Cup since 1936, beating Belgium 3–1.

Which is the most successful nation in Davis Cup history?

World Group winning countries progress to the quarter-finals. Nations have to win a further three ties in order to claim the position of Davis Cup champions. The United States are the most successful nation in the history of the competition, with 32 victories.

When was the first time Russia won the Davis Cup?

Russia won their first Davis Cup in 2002, before Australia regained the title the following year. Spain won the tournament for the second time in 2004, and would win a further three titles in 2008, 2009 and 2011.

Who are the current holders of the Davis Cup?

Spain are the current holders, they beat Canada 2-0 in the final in 2019. The Davis Cup was founded in 1900 as the International Lawn Tennis Challenge. Four members of Harvard University wished to challenge Great Britain in a tennis competition.