Where was the European Championship held in 2012?

Where was the European Championship held in 2012?

The 2012 UEFA European Football Championship, commonly referred to as UEFA Euro 2012 or simply Euro 2012, was the 14th European Championship for men’s national football teams organised by UEFA. The final tournament, held between 8 June and 1 July 2012, was co-hosted for the first time by Poland and Ukraine,…

What was the official UEFA Euro 2012 Ball?

Main article: Adidas Tango 12. Monumental Adidas Tango 12 in Kyiv. The Adidas Tango 12 was the official match ball of UEFA Euro 2012. The ball is named after the original Adidas Tango family of footballs; however, the Tango 12 and its variations have a completely new design.

Who are the host nations for Euro 2012?

As at Euro 2008 in Austria and Switzerland, both 2012 host nations were eliminated in the group stage. The hosting of the event was initially contested by five bids representing seven countries: Croatia–Hungary, Greece, Italy, Poland–Ukraine, and Turkey.

How many stadiums were built for Euro 2012?

Euro 2012 was played at eight venues, four in each host country. Five new stadiums were built for the tournament, and the hosts invested heavily in improving infrastructure such as railways and roads at UEFA’s request.

Where did Spain rank in UEFA Euro 2012?

Spain, who began the tournament as one of the favorites, ranked highest in the FIFA World Rankings, while Italy ranked twelfth overall, and eighth among UEFA teams. 0–0 ( aet) (4–2 pen. ) 0–0 ( aet) (4–2 pen. ) Spain were drawn in Group C alongside Italy, Croatia, and Republic of Ireland, opening against Italy on 10 June 2012.

Who are the teams in the Euro 2012?

1 CZECH REPUBLIC. State of play Expectations are low for the Czechs after qualifying for the tournament via a play-off win against Montenegro, having missed out on the 2010 World Cup. 2 GREECE. 3 POLAND. 4 RUSSIA. 5 DENMARK. 6 GERMANY. 7 HOLLAND. 8 PORTUGAL. 9 CROATIA. 10 ITALY.

What was the average attendance for Euro 2012?

Euro 2012 set attendance records for the 16-team format, for the highest aggregate attendance (1,440,896) and average per game (46,481). Spain became the first team to win two consecutive European Championships, and also three straight major tournaments ( Euro 2008, 2010 World Cup and Euro 2012).

Who are the two host nations for Euro 2012?

Ukraine and Poland were both assigned to Pot 1 as the two host nations, despite the fact that their rankings were the two lowest in the tournament; this also occurred in 2008 when the co-hosts Switzerland and Austria were also ranked below all other qualified teams.

What was the prize money for winning Euro 2012?

Spain, the winners of Euro 2012, were awarded a total prize of €23 million for their performance. The maximum prize achievable (for winning all group matches and winning the final) was €23.5 million.

When is the final of the Europa League?

The 2012 UEFA Europa League Final was the final match of the 2011–12 UEFA Europa League, the 41st season of Europe ‘s secondary club football tournament organised by UEFA (after the UEFA Champions League ), and the 3rd season since it was renamed from the UEFA Cup to the UEFA Europa League.


Who are the members of the UEFA Euro 2012 team?

The balls were drawn by four former players who had each been part of European Championship winning teams: Horst Hrubesch, Marco van Basten, Peter Schmeichel and Zinedine Zidane. ^ Co-hosts Poland (coefficient 23,806; rank 28th) and Ukraine (coefficient 28,029; rank 15th) were automatically assigned to positions A1 and D1, respectively.

Who is the only team to have won two consecutive European Championships?

To date, Spain is the only team in history to have won consecutive titles, doing so in 2008 and 2012. It is the second-most watched football tournament in the world after the FIFA World Cup. The Euro 2012 final was watched by a global audience of around 300 million.

Which is the best football club in Europe?

Updated after matches played on 2 May 2021 Rank Club / Country Points 1-yr change 1 Bayern München Germany 2057 0 2030 2 Manchester City England 2053 1 1951 3 Real Madrid Spain 1953 7 1866 4 Inter Milan Italy 1947 9 1832


Who are the Europa League winners for 2011-12?

Below is the qualification scheme for the 2011–12 UEFA Europa League: Coeff. Coeff. Coeff. Since the winners of the 2010–11 UEFA Europa League, Porto, qualified for the 2011–12 UEFA Champions League through domestic performance, the title holder spot reserved for them in the group stage was vacated.