What countries are sanctioned by OFAC?

What countries are sanctioned by OFAC?

Currently, sanctioned countries include the Balkans, Belarus, Burma, Cote D’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Cuba, Democratic Republic of Congo, Iran, Iraq, Liberia, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, and Zimbabwe.

Which are the sanctioned countries?

Sanctions Programs and Country Information

​Active Sanctions Programs: ​Program Last Updated:
​Somalia Sanctions 09/22/2021
​Sudan and Darfur Sanctions ​05/19/2021
​South Sudan-Related Sanctions 02/26/2020
​Syria Sanctions 07/28/2021

Can OFAC sanction foreign countries?

The Office of Foreign Assets Control (“OFAC”) of the US Department of the Treasury administers and enforces economic and trade sanctions based on US foreign policy and national security goals against targeted foreign countries and regimes, terrorists, international narcotics traffickers, those engaged in activities …

Does OFAC apply to foreign companies?

Basic Information on OFAC and Sanctions U.S. persons must comply with OFAC regulations, including all U.S. citizens and permanent resident aliens regardless of where they are located, all persons and entities within the United States, all U.S. incorporated entities and their foreign branches.

Which countries have US sanctions?

Combined, the Treasury Department, the Commerce Department and the State Department list embargoes against 29 countries or territories: Afghanistan, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, China (PR), Côte d’Ivoire, Crimea Region, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Haiti, Iran, Iraq.

What are the 3 types of OFAC sanctions?

OFAC Economic Sanctions Programs

  • Diplomatic;
  • Criminal Enforcement;
  • Economic;
  • Humanitarian; and.
  • National Security.

How do sanctions affect a country?

According to a study by Neuenkirc and Neumeier (2015) the US and UN economic sanctions had a statistically significant impact on the target country’s economy by reducing GDP growth by more than 2 percent a year. Imposing sanctions on an opponent also affects the economy of the imposing country to some degree.

Is Russia sanctioned country?

The sanctions were imposed by the United States, the European Union (EU) and other countries and international organisations against individuals, businesses and officials from Russia and Ukraine. In December 2020, the EU again extended the sanctions until 31 July 2021.

When a country stops trading with another country?

An embargo is when one country completely refuses to trade with another country.

Where is OFAC’s country list for United States?

Where is OFAC’s Country List? What countries do I need to worry about in terms of U.S. sanctions? | U.S. Department of the Treasury Where is OFAC’s Country List? What countries do I need to worry about in terms of U.S. sanctions?

What kind of sanctions does the OFAC use?

OFAC administers a number of different sanctions programs. The sanctions can be either comprehensive or selective, using the blocking of assets and trade restrictions to accomplish foreign policy and national security goals. Where is OFAC’s country list?

Who is the Office of Foreign Assets Control?

The Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) is part of the United States Treasury Department. OFAC manages the United States government’s sanctions and embargo programs, as well as the Specially Designated Nationals (SDNs) and Blocked Persons lists.