What are the seven pillars of Kwanzaa?

What are the seven pillars of Kwanzaa?

The seven principles of Kwanzaa, as determined by Karenga, are umoja (unity), kujichagulia (self-determination), ujima (collective work and responsibility), ujamaa (cooperative economics), nia (purpose), kuumba (creativity) and imani (faith).

What do the 7 days of Kwanzaa mean?

The seven-day period of Kwanzaa is meant to be a time of celebration, reflection, affirmation and connection. Though it is rooted in African traditions, it is not solely recognized, studied or celebrated by people of color.

Why are the seven principles of Kwanzaa important?

The seven principles represent seven values of African culture that help build and reinforce community among African-Americans. On the first night, the center black candle is lit, and the principle of umoja, or unity is discussed. On the final day of Kwanzaa, families enjoy an African feast, called karamu.

What does the principle Ujima mean?

collective work and responsibility
WHAT DOES UJIMA MEAN? Ujima, pronounced oo-JEE-mah, is the third principle of Kwanzaa and means “collective work and responsibility.”

Why is December 26th called Kwanzaa?

Kwanzaa is an African-Americans celebration of life from 26 December to 1 January. Dr. Maulana Karenga introduced the festival in 1966 to the United States as a ritual to welcome the first harvests to the home. Karenga created this festival for Afro-Americans as a response to the commercialism of Christmas.

What are the principles of blackness?

The Seven Principles of Kwanzaa

  • Umoja (Unity) To strive for and maintain unity in the family, community, nation, and race.
  • Kujichagulia (Self-Determination)
  • Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility)
  • Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics)
  • Nia (Purpose)
  • Kuumba (Creativity)
  • Imani (Faith)

What is the 3rd principle of Kwanzaa?

We devote the third day of Kwanzaa to Ujima – the principle of collective work and responsibility.

What does Nguzo Saba refer to?

The Nguzo Saba (Swahili for Seven Principles) were originally developed to reinforce aspects of African cultures which contribute to building and supporting family, community and heritage among persons of African descent. Umoja (Unity): To strive for and maintain unity in the family, community, nation and race.